AUSTRALIAN GREYHOUND RAGING ASSOCIATION

MEDIA RELEASE

HERALD



2nd February 2014

Gatt & Dapiran Time Honours

By Dimity Maher Australian Racing Greyhound

Mark Gatt's well performed chaser Ritza Hattie successfully avenged her second placing from last week's heat of the Group One National Futurity, with a strong display from box two in semi-final two. After beginning moderately, the daughter of Bombastic Shiraz and Midnight Flare, loomed up between runners around the first turn to sit in third place behind Jason Mackay's smart youngster Zipping Delta. The two-time Group winner took full advantage of a rails run on the home turn, to streak away by two lengths in a speedy 29.55.

Semi-final one of the Futurity was taken out by Keinbah owner-trainer Ryan Tredway and Little Satisfies. Having just one career win to her name, the daughter of Cosmic Rumble and Really Satisfies, dwelt at the start and suffered a heavy check at the first turn, before showing genuine speed down the back to sit in second place behind early leader Smashing Sally. In a last ditch effort, the \$35.10 rank outsider lunged at the line to score by a head in 30.03. Jodie Lord qualified two runners for Friday's final with Cawbourne Cobra and Cawbourne Rev finishing third and fourth respectively.

Leading breeder Martin Hallinan has made an impact on this years Derby series and yesterday proved his charges will be very competitive in next Friday nights final by qualifying three runners. Hallinan's best result was Zipping Brock trained by Peter Dapiran, who stepped out in semi-final two of the Derby with solid support from punters at \$8.50. The son of Mantra Lad and Cho Chang jumped beautifully from box four and was never headed in a fast 29.56 display. Hallinan's own runner Waymore's Blues, put in another solid performance from box one to finish second and \$2.10 favourite Red Road was squeezed out at the start and failed to qualify, however Gatt's other chaser Ritza Raider ran a respectable third.

Semi-final one went to the in-form Evil Punk for James Coyle, who exploded from box one and got a beautiful rails run to lead throughout in a speedy 29.59. Reserve runner Soviet Missile for Toby Weeks ran a gallant second at big odds of \$18.60 to qualify and \$1.60 favourite Boyce Road after finding early trouble, managed to run fourth and book his place in next weeks Group One final.

GROUP ONE - Newcastle Herald National Derby Classic \$75,000 to the winner

Box Draw and local Market for the Newcastle Herald Derby 515:

\$75,000 to the winner Group 1 Newcastle Herald Derby final						
Box	Greyhound	Trainer	Price	B/T		
	Boyce Road	Mark Gatt	\$1.90	29.33		
2	Evil Punk	James Coyle	\$2.90	29.59		
3	Lochinvar Rossi	Robert Smith	\$41	29.74		
4	Waymore's Blues	Martin Hallinan	\$7	29.65		
5	Zipping Snoopy	Peter Dapiran (Vic)	\$41	NBT		
6	Soviet Missile	Toby Weekes	\$35	NBT		
7	Ritza Raider	Mark Gatt	\$15	NBT		
8	Zipping Brock	Peter Dapiran (Vic)	\$7	29.54		
()9/2	Tricky Pluto (RES)	Martin Hallinan	\$16	NBT		
10	Topper Harley (RES)	Anthony Azzopardi	\$26	NBT		

Local expert's selections for the Newcastle Herald Derby final are as follows.

<u>Gerard Guthrie</u> 1st Boyce Road 2nd Evil Punk 3rd Zipping Brock <u>Adam Dobbin</u> 1st Boyce Road 2nd Zipping Brock 3rd Evil Punk <u>Ron Arnold</u> 1st Evil Punk 2nd Boyce Road 3rd Waymore's Blues

GROUP ONE - Dogpro National Futurity Classic \$75,000 to the winner

Box Draw and local Market for the Dogpro Futurity 515:

\$75,	\$75,000 to the winner Group 1 Dogpro Futurity final						
Box	Greyhound	Trainer	Price	B/T			
1	Cawbourne Rev	Jodie Lord	\$6	29.66			
2	Smashing Sally	Neil Falk	\$4.50	29.87			
3	Queen Esther	Noelene Holloway	\$31	NBT			
4	Rue De Kahn	Dean Swain	\$12	29.80			
5	Little Satisfies	Ryan Tredway	\$18	30.03			
6	Zipping Delta	Jason Mackay	\$7	29.90			
7	Cawbourne Cobra	Jodie Lord	\$28	NBT			
8	Ritza Hattie	Matt Gatt	\$1.80	29.41			
19	Cawbourne Whip(RES)	Jodie Lord	\$8	29.46			
10	Tam's Wish (RES)	Michael Chilcott (VIC)	\$12	NBT			

Local expert's selections for the Dogpro Futurity final are as follows.

Gerard Guthrie 1st Ritza Hattie 2nd Zipping Delta 3rd Smashing Sally 3rd Zipping Delta

<u>Adam Dobbin</u> 1st Ritza Hattie 2nd Smashing Sally

<u>Ron Arn</u>old 1st Smashing Sally 2nd Rue De Kahn 3rd Ritza Hattie

What's happening on race night?

Full Bar and Tote facilities are on course with the first event kicking off at around 7pm. Corporate facilities are also available for final night.

For any information please call The Gardens on 02 4951 5842.

The National Derby was first run in 1963 and was for a long period the NCA's Group 1 flagship at one time it was worth \$100,000 to the winner. The club changed its direction a few years ago making the St Ledger better known as the Paws Of Thunder the richer of the two events settling on \$75,000 to the winner for the Derby. With the deregistration of the NCA both Group 1 features are operated by the GBOTA. Listed below is the full honour roll.

1963 Keen Linen, 1964 Flying Myobb, 1965 Chariot Charm, 1966 Roman Earl, 1967 Mister Moss, 1968 Second Stage, 1969 Abbey Road, 1970 Arthur's Desire, 1971 Bomber's Gift, 1972 Young Moss, 1973 Rushin' Moss, 1974 Steelflex, 1975 Steelflex, 1976 Baguio, 1977 Chief Holly, 1978 True Leader, 1979 Tegimi, 1980 General Jeff, 1981 Handicap, 1982 Lord Tegimi, 1983 World Park Ned, 1984 Inch Time, 1985 Rapid Supreme, 1986 Holstein Boy, 1987 Shy Sultan, 1988 Clover Chief, 1989 Worth Doing, 1990 Master Hilo, 1991 Pretty Tardy, 1992 Little Denver, 1993 Major Gossip, 1994 Indian Dance, 1995 Dallas Man, 1996 Cattle Drive, 1997 Comrade In Arms, 1998 Mepunga Blaze, 1999 Hahn Bale, 2000 Fond Regards, 2001 Mean Bean, 2002 Medinah, 2003 Greasy Grizzly, 2004 Pacific Sky, 2005 Eiffella, 2006 Brother Knows, 2007 Slater, 2008 Borat, 2009 Fedex, 2010 Elite Blue Size, 2011 Bogie King, 2012 Sure As and 2013 Jagger Swagger.

The National Futurity was another time honoured flagship event for the NCA first run in 1964, it has been won by some wonderful sprinting bitches' over the years most of which continued to carve out outstanding race careers. Listed below is the full honour roll.

1964 Cultured Girl, 1965 West Opal, 1966 Miss Lane, 1967 Pearl Moss, 1968 Rocket Bridge, 1969 Anne Lewis, 1970 Tidal Mist, 1971 Top Saba, 1972 Spanish Dancer, 1973 Likely Light, 1974 Tintawin, 1975 Night Aim, 1976 Woolley Wong, 1977 Little Fresh, 1978 Tearaway Owl, 1979 Baretop Girl, 1980 Beaumaris Sue, 1981 Zany Zen, 1982 Promises Free, 1983 Winifred Bale, 1984 Turbo Top, 1985 Sophistication, 1986 Flash Jass, 1987 Expensive Lee, 1988 Tiger's Sunset, 1989 Mary Casey, 1990 Gozo Nicoloa, 1991 Just Jedda, 1992 November Sunset, 1993 National Night, 1994 Mystery Idle, 1995 Tar Dinn, 1996 Holiday Belle, 1997 Rare Missile, 1998 Fine Devil, 1999 Crystal Light, 2000 Junoesque, 2001 Queen Muffin, 2002 Hotshow Lil, 2003 Lissiloo, 2004 Nulkaba, 2005 Lukeamy 2006 Jinderra Flame and 2007 Bralyn Maisie, 2008 Elite Oriental, 2009 Digital Magic, 2010 Daydream, 2011 Crystin Bale, 2012 Midnight Capers and 2013 Sometimes Speedy.

> For any further information contact: Operations Manager Ellen Dwyer Ph: 02 8587 1210 ellen @gbota.com.au Contact Ellen about: Function bookings, sponsorship, racing matters, Feature Races, close of nominations, trial times and bookings.

For more information please contact: **Neil Brown** AGRA Publicity Officer Tel: 03 97691234 Mob: 0423 129 950 nbrown@agra.com.au

Howard Ashton AGRA Executive Officer Tel: 08 8243 7100 Mob: 0438 042 838